the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


i need some energy and i need it now
2003-01-24 @ 3:53 p.m.

I really need to start waking up soon. I need to be in a "Let's Go Party, People!" sort of mood, and I only have two hours to get there from my current, "Let's Go Stare Blankly Into Space, And Possibly Eat Some Chocolate Bonbons" sort of mood. Ah well, I'm sure I'll get there eventually. I've never had much problem rising to the occasion in the past.

The stew turned out great. The meat, however, was so tender, that it completely shredded itself while I was stirring it while thickening the sauce. The potatoes sort of mashed themselves as well, although the carrots seemed to hold on to their structural integrity pretty well. It ended up being sort of like ropa vieja, texture-wise, which is definitely something to keep in mind the next time I make ropa vieja. I don't do it very often because I can usually think of better things to do than shred meat.

The stew tasted good, though, and that's what's important. Next time I'll pressurize it for a shorter time, though.

I went and got new batteries for my watch the other day, because the battery is already dead despite me owning said watch for less than two weeks. I tried to swap the dead battery for one from a less beloved watch first, but then couldn't get the backing back on (and neither could Elvis), so I took it to the jewelers where it was purchased and had them put a new on in for me.

Which would be fine, if they had used a new battery. Or, at the very least, tested the battery they did put in for viability. As it is, they did neither, so my beloved new watch is once again dead as a dodo. I usually check before leaving the store, but this watch has no second hand and I was being violently shoved away from the counter by an old dame with a broad ass when they handed it back to me. Since the counter wasn't big enough for the both of us, and the ass was clearly winning, I just popped my watch into its box and back into my purse, paid my three euros over the the ass's owner's head, and made my escape before actual bruising could occur. It wasn't until I was all the way back home before I discovered that my watch was still moribund.

Which means another trip to the jewelers. Yay me.

Other than that, things have been fairly dull around here. I made a substantial dent in the laundry mountain, took things into the dry cleaners, picked up clothing previously left at the dry cleaners, went to the grocery. Yawn. Went out last night and played some mediocre darts, made some inroads into the email mountain, caught up on some reading. Did not go to the gym.

The problem is, I just don't feel very energetic. Not even a little bit.

I suspect I have jetlag.

That, however, is going to have to change, and soon.

Tonight, my friends, we are going to see the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Live! In concert! With possibly a quick drink in a Lisbon pub first, and possibly one after, and definitely a trip to the Late Night Bar of Evil around 3am or whenever we get back out here.

Big Fun. No doubt about it.

And the fun starts in less than two hours from now, when we all meet in the Pub. Except for Elvis, who will meet us in a pub in Lisbon, since it's hardly worth it to trundle all the way home just to go back downtown again. He did remember to bring a change of clothes, so he won't be seeing the Peppers in a suit, which is good.

It's all good, in fact.

And the more I think about it, the more energy I seem to have, which is even better.

I think I'll go blast my stereo and get changed.


add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante