the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


slayage and stew
2003-01-22 @ 8:04 p.m.

Last night, Elvis had the Workout From Hell, or so he claims. Apparently, what he thought was his new workout plan was merely the physical assessment. The workout plan they've given him is much more intensive, including time on three different torture cardio machines. They even had him on the one where you're basically pedalling (as if on a bike) with your hands. I have no intention of ever going near that one myself: every single person I've seen on that sucker looks uniformly miserable.

In any case, he survived his ordeal, and spent the rest of last night and today making odd noises every time he moves. It's kind of amusing, although of course I feel sorry for him and his predicament. He did manage to wash his hair this morning, despite his prediction of last night that he wouldn't be able to do so.


In order to help ease my way into the Brave New World of pressure cookery, I bought a couple of pressure cooker cookbooks while we were at home. I also bought a book on fondue, so I foresee a fondue party in the very near future, which will be either Big Fun or a Complete and Utter Disaster. But back to the pressure cooking.

Today I made stew. I made the same stew that I always do, actually, but used the methods and timing from some of the recipes in my new books.

Well, sort of. Thing is, they disagree as to the timing. Significantly, as it turns out. Guess I should have bought that third book I was looking at, so I could go with the majority. In the end, I split the difference, leaning toward the timing in the book that has more general theory instead of just recipes. When I released my pressure and checked the meat for doneness, the cube I speared shredded itself right off the fork.

No problem with tenderness, then, eh?

The potatoes are looking a bit ravaged as well, although I'm sure they'll taste just fine. Note to self: next time, decrease the time.

The proof, of course, will be in the eating. And from the sounds I hear (or don't hear) from the bedroom, Elvis has managed to extricate himself from his suit (the jacket was a real killer, it seems, even worse than the shoes).

Time to eat, in other words.

Not only that, one of our friends that's just arrived on the project has brought the seasons of Buffy we have been desperately seeking on DVD. Today, he brought them into the office to lend them to us.

Slayage and stew.

It just doesn't get any better than that.


add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante