the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


time is a terribly wonderful thing to waste
2002-12-11 @ 7:53 p.m.

I just found Rogue online. You know what this means, don't you?

Yep. Big Trouble.

Fortunately, I got hypothermia before too much time was wasted. Speaking of which, I also found the original, Infocom Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. I loooved that game.

Once upon a time, computer games did not have graphics. Remember? Oh dear-- I was afraid of that. Anyway, HHGG was one of the best, if not The Best. Actually, my poor old brain can't remember any that were better. It was, and for my money is, The Best Text Based Computer Game Ever. My friends and I used to buy us a few cases of beer, fire up the Trash80 or whatever it was we had then, and sit around trying to get a babel fish into our ear and so forth. Sounds quaint, doesn't it? Good times, I'm telling ya, Good Times.

See for yourself. One warning, though: the java version will not let you save, so if you die or quit, you're starting from the beginning, bucko. Considering that we spent weeks or something as a group playing that one, back when we were young and mentally agile, it's a caveat worth remembering.

So much so, that I probably won't be wasting too much time on that one. Until the shareware version is released, of course. I've already sent them an impassioned plea to let me know when.

You know, The Times is a very good newspaper, but sometimes I wish they wouldn't print such time wasting information. Not that I'm not thankful....


Today was actually a very nice day, weather wise. The wind has died down to tolerable levels, there was sunshine and a decent quantity of blue sky. It made a wonderful change from the rain and gale force winds, and that's a fact.

Therefore, I spent the day in class, at the Jumbo (a madhouse, I tell you, a madhouse), in the kitchen putting away groceries, playing with laundry, at the gym.

At least I got to enjoy the weather walking to and from the train, eh?

Tomorrow, I'm sure we'll be back to our regularly scheduled rain.


I had a bunch more to say.

It's gone now.

I wonder if that's a bad thing or a blessing? On the one hand, it probably wasn't terribly important, so why waste anybody's time? On the other, it gives me even more time to worry about nuclear war.

Maybe I'll just go play Rogue.

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante