the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


a whole lotta lunch
Friday, Dec. 12, 2003 @ 12:25 pm

Today is Friday. How did that happen? I could have sworn that it was only Wednesday -- Thursday, tops. Monday holidays do that, I've found. Still, the week trundles on, and it's not quite over yet.

I have been busy. So far this week, aside from Monday's holiday, I've been to an open house sort of lunch, a potluck lunch, a proper luncheon in a restaurant (complete with door prize). And to think I've been known to complain that I don't get to go out to lunch enough! However, the holiday season abounds with lunches. Also cocktail parties, although we haven't been hit with a load of those just yet, although this week also contained an evening of drinks and snacky things at the home of some friends. And then, there was the shopping: a trip to the mall, a trip to the hypermarket, and a trip to another mall. And there was a shopping trip into Lisbon that didn't result in a whole lot of what you would call Actual Shopping. It was more of a fact finding mission, plus the unexpected bonus of discovering a brand new (to me) bar, so it wasn't a complete loss.

As opposed to my writing, which was. In fact, I didn't do diddly this week, writing-wise. In a somewhat pitiful defense, my 48 hour writing marathon (which ended last Saturday) -- that was supposed to jump start my motivation and catapult me into a productive week -- left me with an aching back, aching wrists and tingling arms and fingers, so perhaps it wasn't such a good idea after all, even though I did manage to produce 10,000 words during the marathon itself. And I DID feel motivated, for a while. Factor in the recovery period, though, and my newly acquired stockpile of optimistic motivation withered away without a trace, leaving me possibly worse off than before.

I'm trying to look on the bright side, however. Fact is, I just plain wasn't around much this week, yet I still managed to stay on my self-imposed schedule, although not on a daily basis, which was the point of the whole thing, but Oh Well. There's always next week.

And this weekend, of course.

Not to mention the rest of today.

Speaking of which, I'd better get my ass in gear: no use writing off the entire week just yet.

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante