the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


at least the soup turned out well
2002-09-21 @ 12:14 p.m.

On Thursday night, I was home by eleven.

I should have known. Actually, I did know, and it was confirmed even before 10:00, when Gretel remarked that it was past her bedtime. Stunned, I asked just when her bedtime is. Half past nine, apparently. Hansel must be thrilled, although I imagine that he tucks himself in around half past ten. The other two said they go to be around 10:30 as well.

Elvis and I are lucky if we make it by midnight, and that's on nights we don't go out. We've tried to go earlier, but it just doesn't work, it's too early for us to get to sleep. I suppose it's lucky that we're both that way.

On the way back home I stopped by the pub, but no one was there. And by no one, I don't mean "no one I know", but "no one at all." It was so quiet it was spooky. So I had a drink and chatted with the bartendress and one of the owners, but no one showed up, so I went home early.

Elvis had finished with the TV by that point, and was playing computer games. We got to bed around one, which is a bit late for someone who's sick, although he said he napped earlier.

Yesterday, he called in sick and I didn't have a good day at all. We were supposed to go to Continente in a friend's car, but her husband had driven it to work, so no go there. I ended up going to Jumbo, and waiting half an hour in the rain for a taxi home. Then I spent the day sweating in the kitchen, making chicken soup for Elvis, washing dishes and being harassed by the cat.

I had planned to study Portuguese, but Elvis had the TV blaring. So I thought a bit of writing would be nice, and maybe some internet after I'd deboned the chicken and added veggies to the broth. Of course, by the time I finished that, Elvis had decided to colonize the computer room, and I ended up staring blankly at some hospital soap opera.

Not a good day at all.

Today might be different. That depends on what happens next, because I am going to get my haircut.

Now, this guy comes highly recommended. On the other hand, so have myriad others I've been to, and I've come out of their salons looking like the hounds of hell had been chewing on my head, so we shall see.

Fingers crossed.


add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante