the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


to lnboe, or not to lnboe?
2003-08-14 @ 8:59 p.m.

It's been a good day, on the whole.

It's still hot, but not as hot as it has been. The ankle is doing much better, although I still do need to be careful with it. My friend got the results from a biopsy done on a large lump she found in her breast, and it was benign. Fantastic news; I've been worrying about it and praying for her. I swam laps this morning, then lounged around by the pool reading and drinking ice cold diet coke for an hour or so, which was nice. I got rid of a bunch of stuff from my wardrobe. There's a lot more that needs to go, but it's a start. Even the obligatory laundry didn't get me down, even though it was a white load, necessitating much spraying of stain remover, and even though one of the stains on my white sleeveless v-neck didn't come out.

I was going to write that the house was fly-free, but as I started the sentence, one landed on the screen of my laptop and decided to take a little walk. Typical-- it's like he knew I wouldn't try and swat him there. Ah well, you can't win them all.

Elvis and I went on a date last night, which is something we haven't really done in a good long while. He called yesterday afternoon to ask me out to dinner at our favorite restaurant. I've mentioned it before, and at the risk of causing a stampede and never being able to walk in and get a table without reserving again, it's called Eduardo's. The chef is Belgian, as well (I think he's one of the owners), and his diplomas are hanging on the wall of the front dining room. We have never, ever gotten a bad meal there, plus they always remember us and treat us well, even though we really don't go there often enough.

As we were walking there, it occurred to me that there was a flaw in the plan: the restaurant is closed on Wenesdays. However, seeing as we were only a block away, I kept my mouth shut and just started thinking of alternatives. But! It was open after all, which was lucky for us. We even got 'our' table.

Our favorite, usual waiter wasn't there (he's probably on holiday with the rest of Europe), but his replacement was very nice. More importantly, the regular chef WAS there, along with the regular kitchen staff (you can watch them in the kitchen through the aquarium) so it was fantastic food all around. Elvis had his usual fish soup, followed by my usual pork loin with port wine sauce and apples. I had the homemade paté, followed by breast of duck in cherry liqueur sauce. The cherries garnishing the duck were stunningly alcoholic and very yummy-- they and the sauce would be fab on crepes.

They were out of our usual red wine-- Dualas-- so the kitchen suggested Herdade da Santa Marta, which was very nice. Neither of us had room at all for dessert, although I had my mandatory espresso. It comes with square of dark chocolate on the saucer, and the waiter brought a saucer with a chocolate on it for Elvis, who does not drink coffee. Rather sweet of him, I thought.

After that, we went to the Irish pub and listened to the live music, and people watched, and flirted with each other shamelessly. After that, we went home.

Perfect evening.

Tomorrow is a holiday. Elvis does not have to work, although he probably will. He won't be the only one, as things are getting down to crunch time on the project. However, he doesn't have to get up early, so we're going out tonight. Not another date, just our usual jaunt down to the pub. We'll play some darts, see who (if anyone) is around.

The Late Night Bar of Evil will be open tonight, of course. Not only is it a Thursday, it's a holiday eve as well. As far as I know, Mr. Evil is still on vacation, so the Evil-Wanabe's are still in charge. Mr. E-W is a terrible DJ, and he's not gotten any better with practice, so the jury is still out on whether we'll be stopping by.

Whatever the verdict, I can't go out looking like I do currently. The fact that I'm not wearing anything on my bottom half other than a thong is a particular problem but, hey!, it's hot in here.

I'm off to put on some clothes.


add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante