the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


this entry ought to come with theme music
2003-08-15 @ 9:06 p.m.

Since today was a holiday and Elvis didn't have to work, we got up early, packed a lovely basket of food, beverages and our towels, and walked down to the beach.

Ha! Fooled you. Since today was a holiday and Elvis didn't have to work, I slept late and Elvis later, and we lounged around the rest of the day playing on the computers, watching TV and doing absolutely bugger all. Why we can never be bothered to go to the beach, which is only a short walk away, is a mystery to me. We love to go when we're on holiday, and when we lived in Italy we'd travel hours to spend the weekend at the beach. Go figure, I suppose. I've been myself several times, but Elvis and I have yet to go down to the beach together, despite living here for a year now.

It was fairly quiet night at the pub yesterday. Elvis and Jack ended up having a mini-tournament of sorts among themselves, complete with a substantial bet. They started out playing best of seven, then changed it to the first one to win ten. They finally called it quits at nine games each, declared it a draw and no money changed hands.

This left me free to alternately chat with friends and watch the Monkees special on VH-1. I was already born when The Monkees started in 1966, but we never really watched it until years later, when the reruns were aired in the afternoons, shortly after we'd get home from school. My sister had dibs on Davy, which allowed me to be fickle amongst the other members of the cast. I didn't really fancy Davy, in any case. Nice accent, but too short. Mickey was funny, but not all that cute, which left Peter and Mike. Mike was cute and smart, but that hat? I couldn't get into the hat, it always made me wonder what he was hiding. Peter was cute and sensitive, so I transferred my young adolescent affections to him, but then I noticed that he had that belt thing going on. Didn't he notice that his buckle had strayed? Apparently, he did not. So I wavered.

They're getting old, now, which seems weird. Not Mick-Jagger-old, but definitely middle aged. Mike Nesmith has to be pushing 60, if he hasn't got there already. Peter, I think, seems to have aged the best, so maybe I was on to something. They didn't show his belt on the show, but I'm assuming the buckle is now front and center.

The Monkees wasn't the only TV show cast my sister and I divied up like that. Others included The Hardy Boys, The Dukes of Hazard, CHiPs, and Battlestar Galactica. I got Starbuck, Ponch, Luke, and Frank Hardy, as played by Parker Stevenson. Even though Shaun Cassidy was pretty darn cute, I let my sister have him. I'm a fair and balanced kind of gal. Besides, I got Starbuck.

Whilst looking for links (which was a lot of fun and consequently sucked up vast amounts of time), I discovered that the SciFi channel is premiering a revival series for Battlestar Galactica this fall. Since I don't get the SF channel over here, I had no idea. There seems to be a lot of controversy about it though: apparently, Lt. Starbuck has undergone a sex change. What a travesty, eh?

Well, it's Friday night and time to head down to the pub. Since we didn't go to the LNBOE last night (really!), I imagine that we'll end up there tonight, but we shall see. I'll see if I can post this before we go-- I've been having troubles with a lot of sites today, no doubt black-out related in some way.

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante