the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


do i know how to have a good time or what?
2002-07-03 @ 9:49 p.m.

I am really getting tired of this.

All this sorting and cleaning and throwing away. My back hurts from bending over so much, and my knees ache from squatting.

Plus, somehow, the apartment is swarming with mosquitoes. Seeing as I've had the doors and windows shut all day, I suspect they're getting in through the giant hole in our wall. Along with a great deal of humidity. When it comes to keeping things out, the cardboard boxes and peeling packing tape just aren't cutting it.

To top it off, Elvis has decided to go in late this week. Like, noonish. Which means I can't get at the stuff I still need to do until after he leaves since I'm pretty much down to the bedroom.

That, of course, means that I'm ending up cleaning out my underwear drawer at 8 pm, when by rights I ought to be dragging my soon-to-be-missed friends out for cocktails.

I resent this.

On the bright side, I've done the aforementioned underwear drawer, the kitchen, the bathroom, all the piles of magazines, and the cupboard where I keep paperwork, souvenirs, handbags, backpacks and purses (unemptied, which was rather short-sighted of me), various electronic bits and pieces, and other crap that I generally don't know where else to put. In fact, I spent pretty much all day going through that thing, which is why my back is killing me right about now. Plus my wardrobe (ie, closet), including the ironing. (Ouch! All those sexy, high-heeled, pointy boots! All those lovely black suits! And I can't wear them again until the Autumn. How depressing. Cool weather clothes are so much more flattering than my flimsy summer gear.)

That leaves a stack of boxes full of shirts and the like. Boxes because we don't have enough dresser space. They're nice boxes though-- I riveted them together myself.

It also leaves my nemesis: The Linen Closet. (Hark, is that creepy organ music I hear?)

Since we're seriously short on storage space, The Linen Closet is also The Pantry, The Medicine Cabinet, The Box Room, and The Junk Drawer. Quite frankly, I'm not sure what is in there at this point.

The door doesn't shut all the way.

It scares me.

I've earmarked Friday for dealing with The Linen Closet.

All day.

I'd do it tomorrow just to get it over with, but I'm going out to lunch with Angie and Martha, and then to my final Board Meeting, wherein I will officially resign, and we'll elect Martha to be president in my place.

Oh yeah.

There's just too much joy in my life right now.

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante