the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


No job for me, so I'll just drink
2002-03-07 @ 2:08 p.m.

Now Playing: ELO (Mr Blue Sky, blue sky, blue, sky.....)

Spring has returned, at least for a while. It's bright and sunny and, well, springlike. It's amazing what a bit of good weather can do for your spirits.

I forgot to mention one of the worst things about moving, aside from leaving friends behind, having to figure out where they keep the baking soda in the grocery store, learning a new language, finding out where to buy jalapenos, etc. I've been offered a job, out of the blue. A good one, too, teaching Legal English to Italian lawyers. No lecturing involved, either: just edit legal documents for errors and awkwardness, show them where they went wrong, explain some specialized legal terms. Part time, too. Perfect and, alas, I'll have to turn it down along with some other opportunities, just when I was starting to feel like a productive member of society again.

So I'll just have to strive for unproductivity. And what better place to start than with Wine Tasting, Round II, with my ever-amusing cohorts Angie and Maggie. This time, however, we are not doing lunch first, so perhaps that will keep the spectacle to a minimum. I do hope they have something in their stomachs, though, or I'll need to bring leashes. Or possibly a hand-truck.

Made rice krispie treats again, and this time with multi-colored marshmallows. Amazing-- two and a half years without, then they start turning up all over the place. No plain-jane white, as yet. I'll keep looking. The multi- colored marshmallows melt down to a rather fetching, vibrant shade of orange, which is muted somewhat by the addition of the Krispies. I've decided I prefer it to the sickly pink obtained by using marshmallow version 1, plus there is none of that chemical, vaguely strawberry taste. Multi-colored to me from now on!

Now I'm off to eat my traditional salad (especially vital now that last weekend's hotel had a functional scale, and that I was stupid enough to step on it). Then, I'm off to buy W a hideously expensive gift for our anniversary. I've told him that he can't have one, to wait until the technology is better. But he's been panting for one for a year and a half now, and the tech is better now, and I'm hoping it will cheer him up. Plus, we have the money, and he's the one that earned it. I'm just wondering whether to have a shot beforehand to steel my courage, or wait until after to recover from the assault on my too-cheap soul. Maybe I'll require both.

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante