the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


i blame the late night bar of evil
2003-02-08 @ 5:15 p.m.

My brain just doesn't seem to be functioning properly today.

Not long ago, I realized that I am really hungry. Really, really, queasy-in-the-pit-of-my-stomach hungry. Which is hardly surprising, considering that it's five o'clock in the afternoon and I've ingested nothing but several cups of milky tea all day.

So I went into the kitchen and surveyed the contents of the fridge (along with Calliope, who actually tried to crawl inside for a better look. That damn cat's always hungry.) Finally I decided on the last of this week's soup (because it's easy) and a turkey-melt (because I have half a packet of smoked turkey left which I need to eat before it gets all slimy. The "melt" part is to involve cheese, because the turkey is very low in fat and I'm not in the mood for too much health.)

So, I set up my countertop grill to preheat for the sandwich, retrieve a clean saucepan from the dishwasher (without putting away the rest of the dishes because I just don't feel like it. I'll end up doing it later, when there's dirty dishes to be disposed of.), dump the soup in the pan, and rinse out the tupperware container that the soup was in, so it will be ready to go in the dishwasher once I pull my thumb out and empty it.

Except, one fairly long streak of soup refuses to rinse. So I fill the container with hot water and leave it to soak. Five minutes later, I return to the kitchen to turn on the burner under the soup so it will actually get hot. After that, I give the tupperware another go. The orange streak of soup stays put. I give in and use the scrubber on it. The soup remains. I scrub harder. Still soup. I decide I'm just not equipped to deal with this right now and toss the tupperware back into the sink.

Which is when I notice that the steak of soup is on the outside of the container.

Which pretty much says it all, doesn't it?


add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante