the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


our bags are packed: the cat is nervous
2003-06-20 @ 1:25 a.m.

Today is a holiday here-- Corpus Christi. To celebrate, we went out last night in Lisbon. This entailed downing many beers in the Irish Pub near the station until everybody showed up, then heading up to the Bairro Alto, making our way from bar to bar in search of more beer and some music we could at least tolerate. The only place we found it was in a bar that used to be a convent church at one time.

It's a nifty place-- Elvis and I have been there several times before. We stood around in a circle in what used to be a side chapel, doing some serious quaffing. The others agreed that it was weird to be there drinking in what, after all, used to be a church. They thought it a mite disrespectful. The only one who didn't feel that way at all was me, the only Catholic among the lot of us.

We never did eat dinner, although that was part of the plan at the beginning of the evening. So when they slung us out of the final bar at 4 or 5 am, we jumped in a pair of taxis to head for a 24 hour diner type place that Elvis and I like a lot. The cool thing about it is sitting at the counter. It's hard not to-- the whole place seems to be counter, with just a few booths. The counter itself is like a maze, zig-zagging around the restaurant, which is not small. I'm a big fan of the scrambled eggs with pickles and mustard, and Elvis loves their prego.

They all asked me if I was sure it would be still open. Sure I'm sure, says I, it's always open, 24 hours. We got there just as they were shutting the doors and shooing out the final customers.

It's a holiday in Portugal, you see . . . .

Speaking of which, our bags are packed and we're ready to go. In a little over 12 hours, we'll be basking in the Greek sunshine.

Well, actually we'll be at the airport, cooling our heels until we can get our flight to the islands, but hey-- it'll be Greece!

Calliope is taking a little nap on one of the suitcases in the hall. She's determined that we're not going to leave without her this time! Heh. Sir and Lady Jane will be looking after her, so I expect we'll return to find her more spoiled than she already is, if it's even possible.

I'll be back on July 7, undoubtedly with plenty to say.

Take care of yourselves, folks!

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante