the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


life's little annoyances
2003-01-06 @ 6:16 p.m.

We had a nice weekend. We did all the usual things: pub, Evil Late Night Bar, Sunday dinner, darts. We saw a lot of our friends, which was good. Everyone seems to have had a good Christmas. All in all, it was pretty relaxing.

Except for the internet, which drove me nuts at times. It's nice having the cable connection. We've never had one before, and I'm liking it. It's fast and convenient-- until they start having problems with their server. It ate half my entry on Saturday night, and then went down completely. I managed to fix it Sunday morning, wandered off to make another cup of tea, and when I sat back down, it was down again, never to return. Very frustrating, especially since I was needing to mail off the pages for next month's magazine. Not only that, but I couldn't even finish them off and have them ready to go, since I couldn't check my email for any last minute changes. There are always last minute changes.

So instead I lounged on the sofa and watched the Eastenders omnibus and random sitcoms until it was time to head out to eat. There are worse ways to spend a Sunday afternoon.

Today I went to the gym. It's the first time I've been back since I did whatever it is that I did to my lower back. No problems at all, except things got a bit twingy doing hyper-extensions so I left that one at just the one set. Of course, I'll have to see how it is tomorrow. My back didn't hurt the day I injured it; it was the following morning when the agony set in.

I am still sick of blowing my nose.

While I was on the stair-climber, my thoughts turned to what I was going to make myself for lunch, as they do. It didnt' take me long to decide that what I really wanted was a curry. So after I finished my work-out, I scurried home, ravenous, to make me some lunch. I took out the tofu, the onion, the apple, the coconut milk, the potato, the peas, the cauliflower, the pitas I use instead of naan. But I couldn't find the curry paste. I found two jars of mango chutney. Two! I have raisins and slivered almonds as well. So I took out my step- ladder and made a thorough search.

Still no curry paste. I have curry powder, and ginger and coriander and chili, but I like to mix the powdered spices and the paste for best effect. Neither one on its own really does it for me.

How could I let this happen? I don't make curry all that often, but when I do I always seem to have two or three different types to choose from. But nothing..... Unbelievable. It's my own fault, too. I know for a fact that Elvis hasn't been using it up without telling me.

Eventually, I whipped up some of my spicy, tasty, and admittedly unauthentic enchilada sauce, and had enchiladas instead. They turned out well, but they just weren't curry. (As if I expected them to mutate in the oven.) I even had a piece of chocolate afterwards. It didn't help.

I am definitely still craving curry. Elvis doesn't do curry, so a trip round the corner to the Indian place for dinner tonight is out of the question.

This means, of course, that tomorrow after my trip to the gym (including faux- yoga-- I've decided to give it another go), I'll be making a trip to the grocery store.

Curry Cravings just don't go away by themselves.

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante