the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


now, if we had a car, this would be an entirely different entry
2003-03-11 @ 7:26 p.m.

Today was another beautiful day. Which was just as well, since I spent most of it outside, running from place to place.

I went to the gym bright and early, which is rather rare for me, but I knew that if I didn't go first thing, by the time I got back from all the other stuff I had to do I wouldn't be inclined to go at all.

Not that I was inclined to go at 7 am, but I went anyway. My brain isn't alert enough at that hour to come up with clever arguments to talk myself out of it. Got back around 8:15, slugged down some food, washed some dishes, showered, dressed and otherwise got myself ready to go. Walked to the train station, took the train to Estoril, walked up the hill and went to class, which ran late as per usual. No time for the train, so I cheated and called a taxi. Had him drop me off at the kiosk, bought cigarettes, went to the ATM, crossed the street (which took a full five minutes, which actually wasn't too bad), paid the water bill at the municipal water authority, and from there walked to our women's group meeting. (Downhill! Yes!) Listened to some woman speaking about stem cell research and nano-tech as applied to anti-aging techniques. (Not at all what we were expecting when we asked her to speak, by the way, but quite contentious and some of the ladies were extremely interested. Which was a bonus, because she talked for a longt time. Which we also didn't expect.)

After that, a bout of meeting and greeting and schmoozing, followed by being regaled with all the items I'd been volunteered for and the issues that had been raised regarding my office at yesterday's board meeting, which I could not attend because they scheduled it at the same time as my Portuguese class. I now suspect they did it on purpose.

By then, it was half past one and time for lunch. So we walked to the marina, seeing as it was such a nice day and all. Ate in a dinky little cafe with mediocre food, an outdoor terrace and a fabulous view of the sea, lighthouse and small beach included. Then walked back to the town center, where I ran into Janet who is now back from her business trip and has her parents visiting. Was pressed into sitting a bit with them in the square, which was fine by me because (1) it was still a beautiful day, (2) they're nice people and (3) my feet hurt like hell. Guess the high heels weren't the best idea after all, although the light suit was a perfect choice and you have to wear heels with that particular suit or you get trouser legs puddled around your feet and the very real danger of tripping over your own clothes. Which, you know, is just so attractive.

After resting my poor tootsies for half an hour, it was off to pick up the prints from a roll of film I dropped off Friday and haven't gotten around to picking up until now. Then to the perfumaria to get, well, everything. And I do mean everything. Cleanser, moisturizers (2), powder, liner, mascara-- why does it all run out at once? Can anybody tell me that? Other than to annoy me, that is-- I've already got that bit figured out. It couldn't wait, either, as this morning I was doing the moisturizer equivalent of licking out the mixing bowl.

Then to the grocery store for milk and cokes, after which I took the bus home. I walked in the door at 6:25, which wouldn't be bad if I could stay here, but I can't because yesterday they volunteered me to organize a happy hour. Which I wouldn't mind, especially since I'd already said I'd help out, but at yesterday's board meeting they set a date for it which requires everything to be all sorted and published in the magazine as of yesterday.

Not that they bothered to call and tell about it yesterday, mind you. Oh, nooo-oo. That would be too damn easy, wouldn't it.

Although I'm failing to get a hold of the woman I need to get a hold of, so I might not be able to do it until tomorrow, anyway. And even if they are open tonight and I can go in and discuss things with her, I'm pretty sure she's not the type to be able to come to a final decision, with prices and everything, right then.

They might just have to lump that one. I'll do my best.

Tomorrow, I have the gym and Portuguese class. That's it, unless I'm still dinking around with that happy hour business. I hope to get some writing done as well. I have all these projects I want to work on, that I enjoy working on, and I just can't seem to find the time to sit down and do it.

Thursday and Friday? Nothing but the gym. I cannot wait. Oh, I'll do other, regular stuff over the next few days as well-- laundry, the dry cleaners, some cooking. But all this running around from one activity to the next, from one engagement or appointment or whatever to the next, will be finished. Maybe I'll even get bored. Wouldn't that be something?

It would only be for a while, until it all starts up again. It never rains, you know, but it pours, and I'm beginning to get a wee bit sick of my life bucketing down around me.

Not to mention the fact that my feet still hurt.

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante