the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


hello! my name is rudolph
2002-12-27 @ 6:23 p.m.

I haven't blown my nose for half an hour. This is an achievement, as it seems that I've been doing nothing else since Christmas Eve. Where is all that snot coming from, anyway? It's amazing, really, if you think about it.

I've tried to explain to Elvis that we don't have to share everything, and that every time I give him a cold it's not necessary for him to give it right back to me, but it doesn't seem to have had much impact. Guess I'll just have to mutate it a bit and punt it right back to him.

On the bright side, the drugs seem to be working now. For the last two days, they barely seemed to be making a dent. On the other hand, I was scared not to take them because what if they were working, and it would be much worse without them? Too awful to contemplate, that's what.


I went to the post office today, to pay bills. I tried to go yesterday, when the cable bill was actually due, and the post office was closed. No one there, just me and some old man peering forlornly through the big glass windows into the gloom: "It's closed? How can it be clo-o-osed?" I was feeling pretty sorry for myself at that point. My nose was sore and running, I was down to my last kleenex, and it was about to rain. I was also way too warm, as I still haven't gotten used to the fact that just because it's chilly inside doesn't mean it's all that cold outside. Seeing the old man took me out of that, for a bit. He shuffled, the poor guy. It had probably taken him hours to walk to walk there, probably uphill. If not, it would be a long uphill walk home, for certain. I hope he was able to take a bus or something.

So today I scurried on down to the correiro to pay our water bill and the TvCabo bill that was due yesterday. The TvCabo bill is especially important, because if they cut that one off we have no TV and no internet. Life would be miserable. We'd have to sit around in the evenings and play board games, or read, or talk to each other or something. Have sex, maybe.

Hmmm.

Remind me. Why was I so eager to pay that bill?


Tomorrow we are going to Spain.

This is cool, because we've never been to Spain before. Not that we haven't wanted to go, mind you. We've actually tried to go to Barcelona several times, but it never worked out. We've always been living on the other side of Europe, so we tended to go to places closer to home. But hey, now we're right next door, so tomorrow we are off.

We'll be going to Madrid for a couple of days, then to Salamanca for New Year's. It should be a trip filled with tapas and sherry and glasses of wine. Beer for Elvis, the Prado for me. Partying hearty. Getting in at 6 am.

It should be Big Fun.

Although going to sleep as the sun's coming up isn't really going to be much of a change for us. Then again, we've never done it more than two days in a row. Then again, in Spain they do naps.

Sadly, I've never been successful at naps.

Happy New Year!

Have yourselves some Big Fun.

See you in 2003.

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante