the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


busy busy busy
2003-02-16 @ 6:10 p.m.

I like being busy.

Really. I do. But I wish that my flurries of activity would space themselves out a bit better. Lately, everything seems to be happening at once, and I spend my time rushing from one place to another and all of a sudden it's Sunday and I'm not sure how I got here. Wasn't it just Wednesday yesterday? Or was that the day before?

We had a dinner party for Miss Kitty's birthday last night. We all chipped together for a present. Lady Jane thought jewelry would be nice, so I met her at the Mall to shop for it on Thursday (after I got my hair permed! It's very curly, which isn't really in style at the moment, but it's cute as all hell. Even better, I no longer feel tempted to get a buzz cut, so it looks like I really will manage to grow my hair out this time. But I digress...)

Anyway, Lady Jane suggested a charm bracelet. They've been getting more and more popular again, and it will make a nice souvenir for Miss Kitty, who can remember Portugal and her friends here, and add to it on her travels.

Perfect! Or, rather, would be perfect if we could find one. Finally, when we hit the very last jewelry store in the mall, we found some. Problem-- most of the bracelets were silver (which Miss Kitty loves), but almost all the charms were gold. Made no sense to us, but we got the silver bracelet and an aquarius charm from their meager selection. Then we went back to all the stores just looking for charms. Which they didn't have in silver, of course.

Since I had to be in Lisbon Friday anyway, we decided that I'd go to the Baixa myself in the afternoon to get more charms. She Who Must Be Obeyed was at the museum, which surprised me. Incredibly, she still hasn't given birth. She's likely to be induced this week, however, since the baby is getting so huge that if he grows much more the only way to get him out of She will be by C section. She decided to come jewelry shopping with me, and took me to a store she knew that had tons of neat stuff at reasonable prices, including a killer selection of charms.

I've said it before, but I really do like She. She is a hoot. She was also telling me that the one thing about her whole pregnancy process that she wished was different is that they would have liked to have a ob/gyn with a better sense of humor. Her's looks at the whole thing as SERIOUS BUSINESS, which it is, but that doesn't mean you can't have a bit of fun with it as well. I mean, it is supposed to be a joyful time, isn't it?

She is also convinced that her son is refusing to come out because the doctor shined a big searchlight, suitable for interrogations, up her vagina, which has scared him, possibly scarring him for life. She also says that frankly, she doesn't blame the boy.

But now, it is time to hit the pub for Sunday dinner. Or breakfast. Whatever you call it, I'm starving and Elvis is finally out of the bathroom.

Coming Tomorrow: Miss Kitty's birthday party, plus yet another adventure in the Late Night Bar of Evil. PLUS: Miss Kitty's love life-- new developments.

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante