the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


even more birthday fun
2003-01-10 @ 9:07 p.m.

Honestly, this has just been the best birthday ever.

We went to the pub for drinks with some more friends, including Sir and Lady Jane. They weren't there the night before because Sir had gotten his dates screwed up. ("Cuz I'm Mr. Reliability, me!") They gave me a fun card and an onion. Or a leek. Or possibly a flower of some sort. What it definitely is is some sort of bulb, with large, scallion- like green leaves growing from it. It is, apparently, a surprise. For everybody. ("But what is it, exactly?" "Sorry, love, can't help you there.") Personally, I'm hoping for a tulip. They're my favorites.

After that, it was off to dinner at our favorite restaurant, which was exquisite as always. In deference to my latest present, I had cream of leek soup to start. For the main, I had roasted breast of duck with bitter cherry sauce, which was divine. Best of all, I had Elvis all to myself.

They were playing some sort of piano music on the stereo. Greatest soft hits of the seventies, sixties and Broadway. We're pretty sure it was Richard Clayderman (or however you spell it. Remember the ads?) In any case, the pianist was... Very... Expressive. Working those dramatic pauses for all they were worth, that sort of thing. Elvis pronounced him the William Shatner of the piano world. It was fun to play psychic name that tune. If you guessed The Way We Were, for example, and Lara's Song came up instead, that was OK, because your guess would be up within the next three songs in any case.

We had a brilliant time.

So, I'm all packed now. Packing took me all of half an hour, even after Calliope decided to help.

Finding the American hairdryer-- now that took a while. But I did, eventually, and I'm all set to go.

I have decided not to take my laptop. We haven't been home for ages, so I have no idea what's about. I know there have been lots of changes around the place, for a start. So if I find an internet cafe or something, I may update.

Then again, maybe not.

There are certain things we have to get done, and a limited time to do them, so we'll see. I can't wait to see our friends, either.

Have a good week, folks.

I'm off to the cough, cough pub.

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante