the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


More wine.
2002-03-16 @ 2:57 p.m.

Now Playing: Lyle Lovett.

Tonight is our WG (Women's Group) Wine Tasting Class-- Lesson 2. Hopefully, it will not be quite the fiasco that the first one was. It's at the same hotel where we've been holding our regular meetings, so it should be OK. We are NOT, of course, going back to that restaurant-- you couldn't pay me to set foot in that place again, even if it is only a five minute walk from our house, and the hotel is in the rather unlovely neighborhood around Stazione Centrale. I really do hope it goes well: the last one made the Board look rather bad, even though most, if not all, those there were understanding.

I hate to look bad.

Plus, I'm the only member of the Board who will be there tonight, making me either brave or stupid. I really, really hope nothing goes wrong. I'm not really in the mood to sort out any misunderstandings.

By the way, the slate for next year's board was announced at our last meeting. I'm to be President. Provided, of course, we're still here. I talked to our current prez about it, and her opinion is to go for it. At the very least, since stuff for next fall needs to be done in June, July or even May (as all of Italy shuts down in August, and lots of people take off in July and August to visit the US or wherever), I'll be able to get things started and sorted out, etc. The hard, icky stuff, in other words. The fun bit is now, in the spring. Oh well.

W and I are going early, as most of the attendees are not going to be Italians. Which means that, unlike Italians, they will be at the very least on time, and more probably early, and will need to be kept out of the Wine Expert's way until she's ready. Which, if she is true to form, will not be on time, or even early, despite the fact that she is not Italian.

As for my part, I've just poured myself as glass of wine. Nebbiolo, in honor of the fact that we're doing Piemonte tonight. I've had about three swallows, and have convinced myself that everything will go smoothly. And if I keep this up, there's a chance I won't care if it doesn't.


add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante