the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


toys for boys
2003-09-02 @ 5:41 p.m.

Today is a good day because I do not have a headache.

Yesterday wasn't such a bad day, especially considering the headache that I had and all the stuff I needed to get done. It did get done, though (except for the laundry, but I had a headache, you know?), and eventually I got rid of the headache (or, at the very least, deadened it enough to enjoy life) with the help of our friendly neighborhood pharmacist.

Actually, he isn't our friendly neighborhood pharmacist. I know exactly where our neighborhood pharmacist is, and she's not all that friendly, but, you know, she's OK in a stern, scowling sort of way. However, I wasn't near that pharmacy when I hit the headache breaking point. The one I went to is in town, and even though I have actually been to that pharmacy before (twice!), I temporarily lost him. I knew where it was, and I'd go around the corner and stare, dumbfounded, at the place that it ought to be but wasn't, so I went around another corner figuring that it would be there, and it wasn't, and I ended up spending 15 minutes wandering aimlessly around, mumbling "I know that bastard's lurking around here somewhere." Pretty pathetic, really, especially when you consider that the old town of Cascais is not all that much bigger than a breadbox, although it does have a lot more corners.

Damn headache.

The most I managed to do on my computer was answer a couple of (very urgent) emails and pound out at press release that had to go out. Hope it doesn't sound too stupid, although it's too late now if it does, I suppose. I did learn that the light from my laptop screen is not the constant glow that it appears to be. It sort of pulses, in a way that is not at all beneficial to those suffering from headaches. Unfortunately, the only time one really notices that is when one has a headache.

I've made sure not to have that problem today by remaining consistently drugged to the gills on C�gripe. I cannot afford to feel ill today, because it is my husband's birthday.

Elvis is forty. Forty!

You know what that means, don't you?

It means we're having a great big party down at the pub, if you haven't guessed. Everything's all ready to go, though, so that's good.

We had a nice enough weekend.

Friday we went bowling. We had six of us on two lanes, and it was fun. I did better than last time, although not as well as my lane-mates. Elvis, of course, is simply a damn fine bowler, plus he was still on the antibiotics and, therefore, sober. Sobriety might have helped, or possibly not. Whatever. Howie-- who SAYS he hasn't bowled in over ten years, and wasn't all that good even then-- managed to get the high score of the evening: 196. 196! I'm thinking 'ringer', myself.

It was unbelievably hot in there, and after about ten minutes we were all drenched in sweat. I would suspect that they had actually turned the heat on, if it wasn't for the fact that they don't do central heating in Portugal. The bowling alley has decided to dispense with making you wear blue shower caps on your feet under their (still) decrepit shoes, although they will make you buy socks if you haven't brought your own. I got around my outrage at the extortionate prices by simply not looking at them, and making Elvis pay for both of us. Oh, and the music sucked hairy sweaty armpits. Other than that, though, we had big fun.

After the bowling ended at around midnight, Elvis went back home (he had to work on Saturday) and the rest of us went to the pub, got kicked out of there eventually when they closed, and then on to the Late Night Bar of Evil. I got home before 4 am, though, which definitely counts as being a good girl-- especially when you consider I had an espresso at the pub, plus one pint that I didn't quite finish, then a single, small beer at the LNBOE.

Yeah. I don't know what's up with that, either. Just tired, I guess.

Saturday was more of the same, plus rugby (watching, of course), minus the bowling, plus the Irish pub, which is always fun because they have live music. LNBOE wasn't as fun as it can be, so we didn't stay all that late. Late enough, but we weren't in danger of watching the sunrise or anything, either. Played darts Sunday evening, and I didn't do too badly.

And now it's time for me to get changed and head for the pub.

I've got a birthday boy to meet, plus I've arranged for half the known universe to show up, too. Luckily, I did not plan a real surprise of any sort, since Elvis just called. Seems he's already in Cascais. He left work early to go to the jewelers to get his new watch adjusted.

Guess what I gave Elvis for his birthday?

He seems to like it. In fact, he seems to adore it, which makes me very happy indeed. It's a Tag Heuer, so he'd better, although given all the bells and whistles possessed by that sucker, there is no possible way anybody with a Y chromosome couldn't fall in love with the thing. I suppose I'll have to give him scuba lessons for Christmas or something, so he can get full use out of all the features.

Toys for boys.

You just can't beat 'em.


add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante