the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


everything looks better with decorative spikes
2003-08-12 @ 8:37 p.m.

I know I vowed not to complain about the heat, but I'm on the verge of a serious whine here. Then I think about how hideous it was in Milan, and the urge dies down, at least a little.

The heat has really put people on edge. Lots and lots of cranky, impatient, intolerant, sweaty people around here. I saw two women almost come to blows after bumping each other on the sidewalk today. A few more days of this, and it will be lynch mobs and rioting.

If anyone can get up the energy, that is.

A whole twelve of us showed up for coffee morning today. We sat around languidly, perspiring quietly and snarking about this and that. Including the giant pile of sandwiches that everyone refused to eat because they looked worse for the wear than we did. I don't know what he was thinking of, in this weather-- he should have put out extra fruit and just forgotten about it.

After that, I ran a few errands in town, then sat in the square for a while, drinking two bottles of water for hydration and one shandy for courage, before getting up the resolve and energy to trudge up the hill toward home.

Once I got here, I went for a swim. I wasn't the only one with that particular idea. I was lucky to get one of the good lounger cushions, in fact. Not that I spent all that much time on the lounger, mind you. Between swims I drank two bottles of water and read a book, which felt rather decadent and especially nice, since what with all this heat, hey, who could blame me?

Oh, and I've got a contact in the municipal offices for tables and chairs for the event in September. One of the woman in our group has even already talked to her about it, and it is no problem whatsoever. And they'll deliver, and set them up and hopefully take them away, too. Such a relief, since I still haven't heard back from the woman who promised to do it, said she might have already done it but wasn't sure, promised to check up on it, and bailed out on the rest of her promises.

Heh. I don't need you, bitch.

Or, at least I hope I don't. I've got someone to design the ad as well. That still leaves me with tons to do, but that's life. It's all stuff I'm perfectly capable of doing on my own, and at least I can rely on myself to do it properly, I suppose.

It'll all get done. It'll be fine.

It's my new mantra. Catchy, no?

Things are getting back to normal around here, now that I've returned. Stuff has been straightened up and put away. Food and beverages have been purchased. There has been a certain amount of cleaning. Cat litter has been purchased and the litter box has been changed. The laundry no longer teeters, which isn't entirely normal, but give me time. I haven't quite faced up to the mess in the computer room, but at least I stacked it into neater piles and got rid of all the empty plastic bags.

To cap it off, my right ankle now feels like it has been bludgeoned with a large spike, thanks to the idiot who thought two inch spikes sticking out of the bed frames in the guestroom would look really neat. Yes indeed, what a wonderful design feature that is! Makes quite the statement, I can tell you. Had you been here a few hours earlier, you would have heard me telling you, in great detail.

So now I'm walking around with a fairly pronounced limp.

As I said: back to normal.

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante