the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


when the going gets tough . . .
2003-09-30 @ 10:18 p.m.

The rain that was threatening all day yesterday finally showed up around bedtime. Elvis and I read for a bit, as we usually do, then we turned off the lights and I laid in bed and listened to the rain.

I like to listen to the rain. It's soothing and rather comforting in a soggy sort of way. So I cuddled up next to Elvis, and listened to the rain, and listened to the rain, and Elvis started to snore, and I rearranged my pillow and continued to listen to the rain.

I get insomnia more than I would like, but usually it's the other way around-- I drop right off, wake up at 3:30 and that's pretty much it for the night. Rarely do I have a problem falling asleep all together. At around 2:30 I couldn't stand it anymore, got up, made some herbal tea, and took it and my book into the bathroom for half an hour or so before going back to bed. An hour after that, I did it again. Finally around 5:00 I gave up completely and sat down at the computer.

At some time after six, Elvis called me back into bed. Since he's the best husband in the world, he rubbed my neck and back for a while, and after half an hour or so I fell asleep.

And promptly woke up with a nightmare, which I also rarely have. I was able to get back to sleep after that, and to sleep until almost 9:00 am.

My mental faculties have been somewhat lacking today, but aside from that, I didn't seem to be too tired, which is weird because I really ought to be. I did have a powerful urge for a nap around 4:00, but I didn't want to go there since it would have screwed up my internal clock even more, so I went to the mall instead. Hey, it was still raining. In fact, it's still raining now.

When in doubt, shop.

I considered seeing a movie, then I considered the very real possibility of falling asleep in the middle of it. Instead I wandered around the new wing they've just opened up. It's nice. It has an H&M, and some lingerie stores that don't happen to carry bras for women who have actual breasts, and various other bright and shiny new shops. I bought a couple of blouses and some cheap and cheerful bras (because they fit!) at H&M, went to the perfumaria for some skin care stuff, bought some contact lens solution, and browsed at FNAC, where I bought nothing.

Now my feet are killing me, and I have to go out and walk to the pub to meet Elvis, who has had a long and annoying day, have some beers I suppose, and throw some darts, then walk up the hill back home.

If I can't sleep tonight after all that, I don't know what I'll do.

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante