the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


still a guest in my own home
2003-10-21 @ 8:38 p.m.

I've been trying to fix the sync problem with my PDA again. And again, and again, and again. Still no success. It's driving me insane, and I am still not a happy camper.

Did you ever notice that when you start your computer in "safe mode", it doesn't look safe at all? In fact, it looks downright sinister. Or maybe that's just me.

Enough with that. Best to stop before I get the urge to start tossing things out the window.

Again.

We went to a new bar this weekend. On Friday night, we went to the Late Night Bar of Evil, as per usual. The place was packed to the gills-- far more that it has been in quite a while-- and it was fantastic. Finally, I had had enough, I was way too tired, and I dragged Elvis out the door. He wanted to know why we were leaving so early. The LNBOE was still packed, the booze was still flowing, the music was still blaring.

I looked at my watch. It was 4:30 am. I have no idea what time Mr. Evil finally decided to wind things down. I asked some of our friends that were still there when we left (that would be about all of them), and they had no idea, either.

Not that I expected them to, but it doesn't hurt to ask.

Saturday, Elvis and I went to the Chinese for some duck (which was much better than the last time. I'm relieved that was only an aberration.) Then we went to the pub, played darts and drank and hung out with friends, which was nice, as always. After that, instead of our usual trek up the hill to the LNBOE, we ended up going to another bar in a neighboring town. It has a pool table, and is open until 6 am. I guess we just fancied a change, plus we knew that the LNBOE would still be there for us if this other bar sucked.

Which it didn't. It's what I think of as a "real" bar, or a maybe a tavern. It's older, dingy and worn. There's the aforementioned pool table right as you walk in the door, a pay-phone, a video trivia game, and the bar surrounded by stools. There might be a table along the wall across from the bar, and there's a bunch of tables upstairs. The music wasn't playing too loud, and was pretty forgettable. Instead of music videos, the TV in the corner was showing an ordinary broadcasted station-- a talk show of some sort, with the volume turned down. Some guy ordered a sandwich that looked pretty good. In short, it was an ordinary neighborhood bar, just on the edge of divehood. You could scoop the whole place up, including the two older guys behind the bar, and plop it down in, for example, Milwaukee, and it would fit right in. Oh, you might have to teach the guys English, and change the beer selection to Old Style, MGD and Miller Lite, but other than that? Nothing.

It's comfortable and laid back and I like it lots. The six of us played pool and had some beers and generally enjoyed ourselves, in a relaxed sort of way. And when it was time to go home, it was too late to go to the LNBOE: they might have been still open, but Mr. Evil won't let people in at 4:30. We hadn't even noticed that it was getting that late.

So, two thumbs up for the Mellow Late Night Bar. We'll go back, but probably not too often, since getting there and back requires a taxi or a sober friend with a car.

As opposed to the LNBOE, which requires a modicum of verticality, the ability to put one foot vaguely in front of the other, and is conveniently located between the pubs and our apartment.

All in all, it's nice to know you've got options, when it's 2:30 am and you're not ready to go home. Which, in our case, is most of the time, so even better, is what I say.

In other news, we seem to be experiencing what passes for Autumn in these parts. The days are still warm, but you can wear your jeans, and long sleeves if you stay out of the sun. The nights are getting cooler: I'll be making fires in the evening, soon. I've got some lovely pomegranates in the fridge, I've been sprinkling the seeds on anything edible for a week and, tonight, I am roasting the first chestnuts of the season.

I love roasted chestnuts. With glass of red wine, feet up, cat curled in lap-- it's the very definition of coziness. In fact, I think I'll go do that right now.

But maybe I'll make one more stab at that ActiveSync problem first.

Now, where did I put that bottle of wine?


add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante