the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


a friend in need
2003-10-02 @ 6:20 p.m.

Note: There is another entry before this one. If you haven't read it, click here. I'll be happy to wait.

Thursday

We have some of the nicest friends in the world.

It started to rain last night, just as I was leaving. It was bucketing down and the street was all river-like, so I took off the strappy sandals I was wearing and put on my creamy beige, �ber-pointy boots, mainly because they were in the hall closet and I was in a hurry.

I haven't worn regular shoes in months and months, and certainly not boots. The closest I've come is a pair of driving moccasins, and once or twice a pair of flats. Most of the time, however, it's been sandals; anything from flip-flops to high heeled strappy numbers, but sandals all the same.

The boots felt weird. Sort of tight and restrictive (that'd be the �ber-points, I'd guess), and my arches felt stretched, even though the heels on those boots aren't particularly high. Shortly after I got to the pub, it stopped raining, and it got warm in there, and I came to the realisation that the boots had been a big mistake. My feet felt hot and uncomfortable. We were playing darts and I was throwing pretty well, so after a while I forgot all about them, and suddenly I was surprised to realise that my feet felt wonderful-- comfy and snug and just plain right. It was like the Summer, with all its sandals and linen and sleeveless tops, had never happened.

Which is just as well, since it's starting to get cooler, the sidewalks are covered in autumn leaves, and the rainy season seems to have set in for good.

We had fun. It was a low-key sort of evening, and there was good music playing on the TV. Eventually it was time to go, so Elvis paid the bill whilst I wrapped my mostly-dry umbrella back up and struggled to put on its umbrella-condom. Elvis helped me with that, and I put the umbrella into my bag along with my darts. We were just saying farewell to the folks that were still there when we heard it start to rain again. Elvis and I stood there looking at each other, and as we listened, the rain came down harder and harder. The others tried to convince us to stay and have one more, and maybe the rain would stop again by the time we had finished.

I was sorely tempted, and so was Elvis, I think, but we reluctantly decided to be good and just go home. We reckoned that it would stop raining just as we got our drinks, and start up again as soon as we'd finished, in the best tradition of Sod's Law. At that point, Elvis' mobile started to ring, and I put my purse back on my barstool and contemplated removing my jacket. I figured that it was a friend who hadn't turned up yet, on his way to the pub and wanting to know if we were still there. Of course, we'd be obliged to stay for one more, and since it sounded like it was raining even harder, I wasn't going to complain.

Except, it wasn't. It was Joe. He'd been hitting the lemonade hard all night, since he had his car with him, and he had left the pub whilst we were paying and so forth, before it started raining.. At that moment, he had just pulled up to the corner on his way home, and he wondered if we wanted a ride.

Is that the nicest thing in the world or what? First of all, to think of us trudging up the hill in the rain, and calling to see if we wanted a lift. Secondly, although the pub is on his way home from where he had parked, our apartment is not. In fact, it's in the opposite direction.

So we made it home safely, warm and relatively dry, and we have Joe to thank for it. We're lucky in a lot of ways, but one of the luckiest is our friends. We know a lot of genuinely nice and wonderful people, and Joe is up at the top of the heap, and it's incidents like that that make us appreciate our friends all the more.

By the way. . .

No, I did not get around to cleaning out my wardrobe today. Quit nagging.

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante