the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


did i mention that mr. evil's back?
2003-08-25 @ 8:02 p.m.

So I've been sitting here, staring at the computer for hours, and not one word to show for it.

I thought I'd check my email first, and I sat here staring at the little whirly thing in the Netscape tab, until I had the startled realization that 20 minutes had passed. At the very least, I'm afraid. All that, and still no e-mail.

There are, at a minimum, two things going on in my poor tortured body. One, I slept very, very poorly last night. Major insomnia, starting at around 3 am. Usually, if I get up, have a cigarette and maybe some herbal tea, and read for a bit, I start to feel sleepy after half an hour or so. Then I clean my teeth and climb back into bed just like I was getting in for the first time, and I can usually get back to sleep in fifteen minutes or so. I stuck it out for at least half an hour, cuddling with Elvis (who wasn't feeling at all well yesterday, and developed the chills for a while), but eventually I gave up and read Claire Tomalin's biography of Samuel Pepys for an hour or so. This might sound like it would do the trick, unless you've actually read the book in question, which is fantastic. Eventually, I gave up on that, crawled back into bed, and finally fell asleep between 6:30 and 7:00, only to be woken up by the alarm clock. (Well, Elvis' phone. Same thing.)

The second problem I'm having is that my lower back hurts like hell. I woke up with it that way, which sometimes I do since I don't have the greatest back in the world. Most of the time it gets better as the day wears on, but not, alas, today. I did some yoga to try and relax it a bit, but it didn't seem to help. Then I took a brisk walk to the grocery, which might have been a good idea if I hadn't bought so many heavy things to carry back home with me. On the upshot, not such a good idea, although I don't actually think I made it worse.

Oh, and I stripped the bed to wash our linens, which I started before I realized the extent of the problem and turned out to be a mistake, although by the time the sheets are dry Elvis will be home and available to help me make the bed. I also cleaned out the cupboard where I keep the crackers, nuts, ginger snaps and other snacks, as well as the coffee. Lots and lots of stale stuff in there, and hopefully now nothing will fall out on my head everytime I open the door to find a baking pan. I tried to empty the garbage from the great big garbage pail, and absolutely couldn't manage to lift the bag more than an inch. Another task for Elvis, I suppose. Hope he didn't have too bad a day.

What I'm pondering is a "which came first?" scenario. Was the insomnia caused by my aching back, or vice versa? Of course, it's possible that my body is in complete withdrawl after going out (and staying out) for six nights in a row, followed by Sunday's complete sloth-fest. Neither of us even took a shower, much less leave the house, and all I fed my body in the way of beverages was cups of tea, diet cokes, water and one cup of coffee. Decaf coffee, which I hate, but I was trying to be nice to myself, wasn't I? Or maybe it's punishing me for too many nights out followed by a day of too much slothful wallowing. Whatever the reason, I'm not a happy camper.

I'm hoping it will be better tomorrow, but since I now seem to be getting the chills, who knows.

I think I'll go lie in the middle of the living room floor with a thermometer in my mouth. I certainly won't be any worse off, I suppose.

Or maybe not, since Elvis just got home, and I suspect he'll be wanting dinner.

With any luck, I'll write about my weekend tomorrow.

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante