the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


Time flies. No fun required.
Wednesday, Feb. 04, 2004 @ 8:28 pm

I went to the gym today. Not straight away, of course. First, I spent two and a half hours talking myself out of going. Not all together, mind, just not today. Because, you know, I could always go tomorrow. Or Friday.

To be perfectly honest, I was a bit afraid to go. I haven't been there for seven months, more or less. More, to be somewhat more precise, which is embarrassing, to say the least. But they sent me a card for my birthday (a month ago, but I had a lot going on back then), that congratulated me and offered to waive my initiation fee if I wanted to come back. Translation: "It's your birthday, so we know you must be feeling old and fat right about now, which-- let's face it-- you are, so you'd better get that lumpy ass of yours down here, pronto." Or words to that effect.

So after a while some primordial sector of my brain kicked in, and I put on my gym stuff and just went, and I feel much better for it. In fact, it was nowhere near the torture experience I expected it to be. I took it easy with the weights, of course: I know from experience that, if you do too much the first day, you won't be able to move for the rest of the week. Even so, I might have pushed myself a bit too much on the legs. Probably not, though-- I walk a lot, and there are hills, and consequently my legs shouldn't be too bad off. The cardio, however, I was expecting to be a Near Death Experience. It should have been. To my amazement, it was not.

Four months to Swimsuit Season!

Why oh why didn't I start sooner?

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

It was a pretty good Super Bowl this year. So good that we didn't even miss the ads, which is fortunate since we don't get the ads over here since we're watching it on satellite and all. It was well worth staying up for, in any case.

Which has made this yet another odd week. Elvis arranged to have Monday off, seeing as we planned to be out watching the game until at least 4 am, if not later. On Monday, I got up around noon and mucked around until Elvis emerged from the bedroom, all bleary eyed. We ended up watching TV for the rest of the day. Complete slackers, the both of us.

It was kind of nice, actually.

But it does mean that Tuesday felt an awful lot like a Monday, and today like a Tuesday, and the week is more than half over, and holy cow, where the hell did it go?

Sheesh. I still haven't figured out what happened to the rest of January.

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante