the dilettante's guide to life


current
archive
mail
sign
links
rings

host


another monday
2003-09-29 @ 11:10 p.m.

I wish it would just hurry up and rain. We need it for one thing, and all this hanging about looking menacing is beginning to get on my nerves. I like a good storm, in any case.

Other than that, it's been pretty much Monday: laundry, a bit of cleaning, and a trip to Jumbo. It's a very annoying place, Jumbo. Unfortunately, they carry a lot of things that I can't get anywhere else. Except for cans of diet Coke-- Jumbo was all out of that today, unless you're after the caffeine free version, and what's the point of that? I ended up with a 1.5 liter bottle out of sheer desperation.

Yesterday was nice, though. We went to the pub for a late lunch- early dinner, and I read not one but two trashy British tabloid newspapers. We watched an American football game on TV, which was great. I love American football, and we miss it. Then we stayed on for the first pub quiz of the pub quiz season.

Now that Miss Kitty is gone, our old team is a bit fractured. This would be fine, but it's definitely a British-centric quiz, so we need a real, live British person if we hope to have a chance at all. Pooka Boy ended up on a team with Joe, Headmistress and Ash, who is a great guy and in love with her, to which she seems to be completely oblivious. (The love bit. She does think he's a great guy.) We played with another couple, Brits visiting one of our friends for a few weeks. We met them before, and they're very nice people. We had a lot of fun. I love quizzes. We came in third, which was better than Pooka's team, so that was all right. Actually, I managed to get a lot of brit questions that the actual Brits missed. Tony Blair's theme song in 1997, for example, and where Dangermouse lives. And Elvis knew that the Circle Line is done in yellow on the Tube maps. How, I do not know, and neither did he.

After the quiz ended, we played darts. Ash asked for, and got, the pub's backgammon board. I had no idea the pub had a backgammon board, but they do. Who knew? I was going to play him after he played Headmistress and I finished my dart game, but Elvis ended up playing him instead, which was OK. I'll have to play him sometime: I get the impression that he is quite good at it.

All in all, it was a relaxing day, which was good because Saturday wasn't. It was fun, mind you, but not relaxing. Elvis worked until fairly late, and then we did our usual pub and LNBOE routine.

Later. . .

Well, Elvis got home at a reasonable hour tonight, provided you call 9:30 reasonable. We've spent a pleasant evening watching TV-- a murder mystery, Michael Caine on Parkinson, and an episode of Yes, Minister.

And so to bed.

add a comment (0 comments so far)

previous :: top :: subsequent

recent entries

I'm here, but here isn't quite where I left it. - Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004
What I did on my Summer vacation. - Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
The Staff of Life. - Friday, May 28, 2004
And I've heard they even sell stamps! - Thursday, May 27, 2004
Patience, Grasshopper! - Friday, May 21, 2004



would you like to get notified when i update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

[ Registered ] Official NaNoWriMo 2003 Winner! .Official NaNoWriMo 2004 Participant.

copyright � 2001-2004 dilettante